Saturday, August 17, 2019
  [ login ]


Rules and Conditions
Next Call (for 2018 Medals): December 2017


Eligibility. All recipients shall be members in good standing of the European Community on Computational Methods in Applied Sciences.

Frequency. The awards shall not be given more frequently than once every two years, except for the Ritz-Galerkin Medal which will not be given more frequently than once every four years. 

Nominations. The ECCOMAS Awards Committee, appointed by the Managing Board, solicits nominations from the ECCOMAS Membership. Candidates for ECCOMAS Awards can be nominated by every individual member of ECCOMAS or by its member associations. Self-nominations are not admissible. A standardized nomination form (one page only) will be provided. Euler and Prandtl medallists are eligible for the Ritz-Galerkin medal. The name of the nominator will not be visible during the selection process.

If less than four candidates are nominated, the Secretary asks the Managing Board and Executive Committee for additional nominations within 2 weeks after the original deadline.

A suspension of awarding an ECCOMAS Award is possible.

The Awards Committee. The selection of awardees will be done by an Awards Committee, which acts independently of the Managing Board. Awards Committee members are neither eligible for an award nor allowed to nominate candidates.

Members of the Awards Committee are: the seven recent medallists, the last Zienkiewicz and Lions awardees, four representatives of the Technical Committees (suggested by the respective Technical Committee) and a representative of the EYIC committee. Euler or Prandtl medallists nominated for the Ritz-Galerkin medal are not allowed to be members of the Award Committee.

It is the responsibility of the Awards Committee to make all preparations for the selection and presentation of the awards to awardees at the ECCOMAS Congress or ECCOMAS Conferences, respectively.